Last week I was so happy with meeting the milestone of completing 50% of my training.  Then I went back to my training plan, and discovered that it was an 18 week program and not a 16 week program.  Therefore, after completing week 9 today, I can confidently say that I completed 50% of my training.  Only now I have another 8 weeks to go.

This was another week of intermittent weather, where most of the week was quite humid.  It set the stage for some difficult runs.  During this week, I also got my weekly mileage close to 60 miles (58 actually), and also managed to do my Sunday 15 miler, without consuming any energy supplements (or eating breakfast)

Below is a summary of how my weekly training went:

Monday 10/06/2014 – 8 miles at 9:40 min/mile

Starting this week, the Monday runs increase from 6 miles to 8 miles, which means I need to start getting up earlier on Mondays.  Oh well.  Dunbar and I had fun running at a relaxed pace.  There was no shortage of lightning in the sky, and we had a brilliant display of it throughout the run.  For the rest of the day, my eyes had issues adjusting to the lights in the office.  Happy with this run.

Tuesday 10/07/2014 – Allen High School Track, 7.56 miles

Back to waking up at 3AM, and getting to the track at 4:30AM.  Ran 6 X 800m repeats with a 400m recovery in between (warmup and cooldown was extra).  The target was to hit 3 min 40s for each 800m.  Nailed the workout.  Below were my splits

3:42
3:29
3:29
3:28
3:25
3:31

Very happy with this workout

Wednesday 10/08/2014 – rest day!  Thank God!

Thursday 10/09/2014 – Tempo run, 1.57 warm up, 8 mile tempo, 1.57 mile cooldown

What a humid morning.  The warm up (10:47 min/mile) was miserable.  Came home and picked up Dunbar.  We took off on the tempo run, with the target of hitting a 8:23 min/mile pace.  It was pretty hard.  Dunbar and I took a break at mile 4, and then headed home.  Ended up with a 8:12 min/mile pace.  The cool down run was more of a death march (11:12 min/mile pace).

Although the results were satisfactory, I really hope that we will not have this weather on marathon day.  I don’t think I can sustain the distance and pace in these conditions.

Friday 10/10/2014 – 7 miles at 9:40 min/mile pace

Dunbar and I had a relaxing run this morning.  I had no energy in my legs after yesterday’s workout.

Saturday 10/11/2014 – 9 miles

Ran with my friends at White Rock Lake (Angela, Bill and Ellen).  We ran at a relaxed pace around the lake.  Ended up with a 9:57 min/mile pace.  The weather was perfect

Sunday 10/12/2014 – 15.39 miles at 9:17 min/mile pace

Started running with Dunbar this morning.  We ran from home over to Skaggs Elementary school (5.7 miles), and I dropped Dunbar with my wife.  I met my Comrades training buddy Viresh, and we ran down some trails in Plano.  I was quite surprised that Plano has some beautiful parks.  We discussed our strategy (run more hills) for the Comrades Up run in 2015, and then ran back to Skaggs.

The highlight of this run, was that I ran with on an empty stomach.  I had a cup of coffee before the run, and ran the entire distance just on water.  Although I carried energy supplements, I did not use them, as I wanted to see how long I could go.

I was quite happy that I finished strong.  On this run, the big lessons learned were that with proper pacing, you can comfortably run long distances.  My eventual is to run 20 miles on just water, and rely on the stored energy in my body.

Thoughts on week 9

I have learned more about running in these last 9 weeks.  Running on a training plan and learning to pace yourself correctly is the key to being prepared for a marathon.

If I have to run fast, I reserve those efforts for the track and tempo workouts, and run at more appropriate pace the rest of the week.

Also getting into a disciplined routine helps to increase your self confidence and consistency in training is the key to making improvements in your running.

Today one of my running friends, Martina Crevecoeur, finished strong at the Chicago marathon in 3hrs 37mins.  She trained on the Brooks Hanson plan (I believe this is her 2nd or 3rd time following this plan).  I have hope that I will do my best to meet my goal.

Total miles for the week: 58.11 miles

Mileage for the last 30 days: 228 miles

Looking forward to starting Week 10 of training tomorrow morning!

